Charity Retail Volunteering

 

Autism Sussex now has seven charity shops across East Sussex, selling a wide range of excellent quality used items. Our Bexhill, Hampden Park, Portslade and Uckfield stores sell clothes, accessories, books, media and bric-a-brac. Our shops in Heathfield, Seaford and Peacehaven also sell homeware and donated furniture that has been upcycled by our volunteers.

Our shops are bright and busy with a buzzing atmosphere. We have a great team of committed volunteers, but we always need more! If you can give a few hours of your time to cover a regular slot on the rota, please get in touch! You don’t need any previous experience to volunteer in our shops as we give you all the training and support you need. Volunteering in one of our shops is a fantastic way to gain retail work experience to put on your CV.

We have a number of volunteering roles available, so there are different ways you can help:

Shop Assistants

   

Shop Assistant Volunteers serve customers on the shop floor and process donated stock in the backroom ready to go out on the shop floor. Most volunteers are flexible and help out where needed but you can choose to volunteer in the backroom only if you prefer.

Furniture Upcylers

Our amazing team of Furniture Upcylers use chalk paint and their creative talents to turn tired, unwanted furniture into fabulous one-off pieces. Our Upcycling volunteers have the satisfaction of seeing their transformed furniture bought by customers – Upcycling alone has raised £15,000 of additional income in the past year.

Van Companions

We run a van service every day of the week, collecting donations and delivering purchased items. Volunteer Van Companions go out with the driver to help make collections, lift furniture and load and unload the van. For this role you need to be strong, physically fit and be able to volunteer for one whole day per week.

 

Interested?

Please contact the shop Manager directly to find out about opening hours, shift times, current vacancies, and how to apply.

 

Bexhill Store

Volunteer roles: Shop Assistants

Manager: Kellie Baxter                  01424 819366                    kellie.baxter@autismsussex.org.uk

65 – 67 Western Road, Bexhill, TN40 1DT

Hampden Park Store

Volunteer roles: Shop Assistants

Manager: Ann Long                         01323 502941                    ann.long@autismsussex.org.uk

7-9 Brassey Avenue, Hampden Park, Eastbourne, BN22 9NH

Seaford Store

Volunteer roles: Shop Assistants, Furniture Upcyclers, Van Companions

Manager: Jane Kupfermann                        01323 492772    jane.kupfermann@autismsussex.org.uk

6 – 7 Talland Parade, High Street, Seaford, BN25 1PH

Heathfield Store

Volunteer roles: Shop Assistants, Furniture Upcyclers, Van Companions

Manager: Vita Buchanan                               01435 510540   vita.buchanan@autismsussex.org.uk

62 High Street, Heathfield, TN21 8JB

Portslade Store

Volunteer roles: Shop Assistants

Manager: Tracy Stevens                01273 423633                   tracy.stevens@autismsussex.org.uk

62 High Street, Heathfield, TN21 8JB

Uckfield Store

Volunteer roles: Shop Assistants

Manager: Anita Collins                   01825 508946                   anita.collinsas@outlook.com

73 High Street, Uckfield, TN22 1PA

Peacehaven Discount Warehouse

Volunteer roles: Shop Assistants, Furniture Upcyclers, Van Companions

Manager: Julie Allen                        01273 585254                   julie.allen@autismsussex.org.uk

Unit E2, Meridian Industrial Estate, Hoyle Road, Peacehaven, BN10 8LW